Referees

So tonight I spent about three hours at my high school watching the JV and Varsity Girls’ basketball games. You are probably wondering why I was there since I am a senior in college, well I have to go because I am a coach in the high school’s basketball feeder team. Of course we sit right behind the bench with our players so they can listen to the head coach and have a front row seat in watching the girls play. Tonight the girls’ varsity team played North Hunterdon and pulled out a 52-46 win. Unfortunately the referees sucked most of the game which resulted in the fans in the stands freaking out and harassing the refs to no end.

In my opinion I think fans needs to understand when to shut the hell up and know that they should be there for support. Maybe my opinion on this is a little biased to one side because I am a coach and if someone in the stands was harassing a ref I would be uber pissed off at the fan. I mean you got to give it to some refs for taking all the shit they get from fans if they make a bad call. If I was a ref from the game tonight I would be at the bar right now drinking to no end…even though they sucked and did it to themselves. I know if I was a ref and someone (other than a coach) was yelling or harassing me I would probably chuck a ball at their face but I guess that is the Irish temper in me. Remember, the coaches know what they’re doing or they wouldn’t be coaching. DUH. But you know what is even worse? Fans who yell about stuff that doesn’t make any sense. That would be like me commenting on a dancer’s skill. I don’t know anything about dancing other than I can’t twerk (no ass problems) so why would I say anything? So to fans who don’t know what they’re talking about when they yell at a ref….LEARN THE SPORT BEFORE YOU OPEN YOUR MOUTH. Believe it or not some fouls are actually fouls and some travels are actually travels. For the most part, refs know what they’re doing believe it or not. Tonight I literally almost freaked out on about five people. Like I am a coach and I didn’t harass the refs tonight because hello, I wasn’t coaching the game. I get it that some referees make really bad calls but fans need to remember their place and to say quiet. So fans please shut up and sit down and stop shouting irrelevant things and let the coaches handle it because you annoy everyone around you. Rant over.

Don’t worry tomorrow’s blog post is going to be a good one all thanks to another good idea.

Love to you all.

Leave a comment