The Little Things

So I am sitting here wondering what I should write about since it is almost 11 p.m. and my lovely best friend gave me a wonderful idea. So here I go about to throw some words into sentences and hopefully this is good.

For anyone who gives a shit I am currently sitting on a friend’s couch eating sourdough pretzels WITH twists watching Family Feud listening to some outrageous stories between my two friends. Don’t judge me that this is my life every night. I should be at a bar or watching something more entertaining but hey I can’t always win. Anyway, you are all probably wondering why I said “WITH twists” WELP it is because I have two types of pretzels to choose from right now. Here are my choices: Sourdough Nuggets Pounder Edition or Sourdough Hard Pretzels Pounder Edition. Obviously I chose the hard pretzels because they have twists and twists are more fun and exciting than the stupid nuggets. You are now probably saying what the hell is wrong with this chick but hey they make me happy so don’t judge. Obviously, pretzels with a twist is not a big deal but as they say, it is the little things that make me happy and pretzels with twists make me happy.

A lot of people probably need big extravagant things to make them happy but the best things that make you happy are little things. Take my pretzels for example. If that is not enough here is another little thing that makes me happy. MY BIRTHDAY! Now you are all probably thinking in your head that I am a conceded chick and all I think about is myself. Well for one day it is all about me so get over it. It is not the presents that make me happy, it is the texts or posts on social media sites that make me happy that day. Something that makes me even happier on my birthday is just being surrounded by people who I love and who love me. There is no better feeling than that and none of you can argue that. If you do try to argue that you then are not American, sorry.

One more thing that makes me the happiest is more than a little thing but I am still gonna talk about it. Coaching. Most of you know I have been around sports all my life from participating in them or just watching them. Well here is some background information on how I got started coaching. My dad started coaching my soccer team when I was little and then later coached my basketball team and when I was little I wanted to be just like my dad. Another factor that helped me start coaching was watching my mom coach in our AAU program. She has coached for roughly 10 years and she has made her way through the program as an assistant coach, to vice president of the program to now being a head coach of team with my dad. Yes, my parents coach together and it is literally the cutest thing ever. In high school I was always helping at her practices and doing the book at her games and finally in my freshman year of college I decided to start coaching. I am now going into my fourth year of coaching and I love it. It is a great feeling being able to share and show kids what you know about a sport. Coaching is a not-so-little thing that makes me happy.

Hopefully after reading this you guys will realize that little things are in fact better than big things. I hope you all are surviving this awfully cold weather and staying warm.

Love to you all.

Leave a comment